Step 1- Write A Research Question
What is a research question?
A research question answers the question what do I want to know about this topic? A research question is a key component of your research paper as it frames the direction of exploration of a topic. An effective research question has the following characteristics:
- Is an engaging question- this inquiry should interest you and your audience
- Is clear and concise- someone reading this question can understand what you are trying to answer
- Is not too broad or too narrow: The question is appropriate for the scope of the paper.
- Is focused: The question identifies specific points to consider
For more guidance on writing a research topic, use these resources:
From George Mason University http://writingcenter.gmu.edu/?p=307
From Empire State Colelge
Step 2: Identify subtopics and keywords
Articulate specific questions and condense your main ideas into important words
Break down your research question into subtopics. Develop questions that address specific points you want to explore in this paper. Identify the most important word or phrase for each sentence.
Step 3: Explore Resources
Academic Search Complete: A general resoruces this database provides articles from academic journals, newspapers, and magazines.
JSTOR: An archival database, this resource provides current and historical scholarly articles on a variety of subjects.
PsycArticles: Use this database for articles a psychological examination of an issue.
Points of View Reference Center: Provides a topic overview plus in-depth articles on social issues.
Proquest Research Library: A general resoruces this database provides articlesfor articles from academic journals, newspapers, and magazines.
(802)227-0222 text message