Search the Griswold Library Catalog for books
Use books for:
- Background on a subject
- In-depth information on a topic
- Search the catalog by a broad topic to identify a book and then search within the book for the specific information. Example, search the catalog for recreation behavior and then look for flow theory within the book.
Search the Griswold Library catalog for print and electronic books.
Search databases for articles
Use journal articles for:
- In-depth information on a focused subject. Think of a journal article as a chapter with-in a book that explores a single issue or concept.
- Original research. Many articles will include research results to prove or disprove a hypothesis such as statistics, survey results, interviews, or other research data.
- Search for the specific idea you are researching. Example: search for flow theory instead of recreation behavior.
SportsDiscus: cover recreation, sports and other similar topics. This database inlcude peer-reviewed articles and articles from the popular press.
PsychArticles is a pyschology database and contains only academic journals.
Academic Search Complete is a general database covering a wide range of topic. This database inlcude peer-reviewed articles and articles from the popular press.
Proquest Research Library is a general database covering a wide range of topic. This database inlcude peer-reviewed articles and articles from the popular press.
Is this article peer-reviewed?
If your article contains these characteristics, then it probably has been peer-reviewed.
- Author credentials- the author(s) are identified and associated with an outside organization
- Abstract- peer-reviewed articles are often lengthy and an abstract will briefly identify the main points of the article
- Original research- the authors(s) will develop a hypothesis and will prove or disprove this idea through research beyond reading other people's wrok on this subject
- References- other work on this subject will be referenced throughout the article
- Visuals- often (but not always) the data collected in the research process will be illustrated in charts, graphs, photographs, or other visual material
(802)227-0222 text message